Aircrafts in Indian Air Force

Indian Air Force have 6 types of fighter aircrafts.

  1. Fighter aircraft :
  • Sukhoi Su-30MKI: The IAF’s primary air superiority fighter with the additional capability to conduct air-ground (strike) missions is Sukhoki Su-30MKI. The IAF have placed an order for a total of 272 Su-30MKIs of which 260 are in service as of January 2020. It is a 4++ generation fighter jet, it will be upgraded to 4.5th generation(Super Sukhoi).
  • Mikoyan MiG-29: The Mikoyan MiG-29 is a dedicated air superiority fighter and constitutes a second line of defence after the Sukhoi Su-30MKI. 69 MiG-29s are in service, all of which have been recently upgraded to the MiG-29UPG standard. It was a 4th generation, upgraded to 4+ generation fighter jet(MiG-29UPG).
  • Dassault Mirage 2000: The Dassault Mirage 2000,in Indian service, is the primary multirole fighter, the IAF currently operates 49 Mirage 2000Hs and 8 Mirage 2000 TH all of which are currently being upgraded to the Mirage 2000-5 MK2 standard with Indian specific modifications and 2 Mirage 2000-5 MK2 are in service as of March 2015. The IAF’s Mirage 2000 are scheduled to be phased out by 2030. It is 4th generation fighter jet.
  • HAL Tejas: The MiG-21s are planned to be replaced by the indigenously built HAL Tejas. It is a lightweight multirole fighter jet. The Tejas will be 40 aircraft of the MK1 variant and 83 of the MK1A variant. The latter will have an AESA radar, improved EW fit and internal changes for ease of maintenance. The MK1 variant is a 4++ generation & the MK1A will be 4.5 generation.
  • Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21: The Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21 serves as an Interceptor aircraft in the IAF. The IAF have phased out most of its MiG-21s and plans to keep only 125 that have been upgraded to MiG-21 Bison standard. The phase-out date for these aircraft has been postponed several times. Initially set for 2014–2017, it was later postponed to 2019. Currently phase-out is scheduled for 2021–2022. It was a 2nd generation fighter, which is upgraded to 3th generation( MiG-21 Bison).

2. Attack aircraft:

  • SEPECAT Jaguar: The SEPECAT Jaguar known as Shamsher serves as the IAF’s primary ground attack force. The IAF currently operates 139 Jaguars. The first batch of DARIN-1 Jaguars are now going through a DARIN-3 upgrade being equipped with EL/M-2052 AESA radars, and an improved jamming suite plus new avionics. These aircraft are scheduled to be phased out by 2030. It is a 3th generation fighter, which is going through upgrade to 4th generation(Jaguar DARIR-3).

Author: Aditya Bhuyan

I am an IT Professional with close to two decades of experience. I mostly work in open source application development and cloud technologies. I have expertise in Java, Spring and Cloud Foundry.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s