Twelve Aditya in Hindu Mythology

  • Vedic theology talks about seven sons of Goddess Aditi and Sage Kashayap. These seven Aditiyas are major deities in the Vedic theology.

Rigveda of Vedic theology says that, Adityas or sons of Âditi are celestial deities and are in total seven,

  1. Varun
  2. Mitra
  3. Surya
  4. Chandra
  5. Kaamdev
  6. Agni
  7. Indra
  • Abode of aditya is said to be heaven or golden city of Amravati above the sky.

In the Bhagavata Purana, the names of 12 Adityas are given as:

  1. Vishnu (The head of all the Adityas)
  2. Aryaman
  3. Indra
  4. Tvashtha
  5. Varuna
  6. Dhata
  7. Bhaga
  8. Parjanya
  9. Vivasvan
  10. Amshuman
  11. Mitra
  12. Pushya.

Author: Aditya Bhuyan

I am an IT Professional with close to two decades of experience. I mostly work in open source application development and cloud technologies. I have expertise in Java, Spring and Cloud Foundry.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s